TuiProfile

English entrepreneur Henry Wagstaff established the Tui Brewery at Mangatainoka in 1889 with the dream of supplying “export quality brews to beer drinkers around the colony”.

In 1904, with new owner Henry Cowan at the helm since 1903, the brewery won its first award for Tui East India Pale Ale at the Palmerston North A&P Show. This established Tui as a beer of choice and sales grew steadily for the next decade, leading to the final name change to the Tui Brewery in 1923.

The iconic Tui Tower can be seen for miles around Mangatainoka and the ‘Tuiwood’ sign which looks down over its domain.

Tui Brewery Homepage